Library seeks nominations of exceptional staff members


Are there staff members at the Wood County District Public Library who always go the extra mile for you and your family when you visit the library? Say “Thank You” to library staff by nominating them for the John M. Gibson Award, a tradition which was begun by the library’s Board of Trustees in 2005 to recognize excellence in customer service. Since then it has been presented annually by the Trustees, who select the recipient from nominations submitted by both library users and staff members themselves.

Any WCDPL employee (except the library director and assistant director) may be nominated for the Gibson award, which was named after the late John M. Gibson in honor of his contributions to the library and his integral role in the library’s 2003 renovation. All nominees will be recognized by the Library Board of Trustees and the Gibson Award will be August 17.

Since being established in 2005, the Gibson Award has been presented to 14 library employees: Mandy Hackley (2005), Mary Boone (2006), AJ Heilman and Donna Mertz (2007), Debra Born (2008), Kristin Wetzel (2009), Linda Conrad (2010), Maria Simon (2011), Nancy Weiland (2012), Katherine Lawn (2013), Anne Render (2014), Matt Mehling (2015), Victoria Forgette (2016), and Tara Bahnsen (2017).

Easy to use nomination forms will be available at the main library in Bowling Green, on the Bookmobile, and at the branch library in Walbridge starting Monday, May 21. Nominations may also be submitted directly from the library’s website, Deadline for all nominations is noon, Monday, July 2, 2018. Don’t miss out on this opportunity to have your favorite WCDPL staff member recognized and honored.

For additional information about the John M. Gibson Award, contact WCDPL at 419-352-5104.