Spirit of Wood County Awards to recognize citizens

Nine individuals from across Wood County are scheduled for recognition by the Wood County Commissioners on Oct. 28, as they present the annual Spirit of Wood County Awards at 2 p.m. in the Alvin L. Perkins Atrium, at the Wood County Courthouse Complex.

The 2018 award recipients include Pemberville resident Tom Oberhouse, Industrial/Economic Development; Jackson Township resident Mark Drewes, Agricultural Leadership; former North Baltimore resident Richard Adams, Religion and Liberty; Middleton Township resident Robert Pollex, Liberty Through Law/Human Freedom; and Rossford resident Charles Cox, Education for Civic Responsibility. Bowling Green residents Ann Harris Householder, Mildred Broka, and Michael Sibbersen were selected for the Lyle R. Fletcher Good Citizenship Award. Also being recognized posthumously for his service to Wood County is David Chilson of Plain Township.

The Spirit of Wood County Awards, are awarded to citizens of Wood County who show outstanding qualities in bettering Wood County as a whole. The County Commissioners have been honoring outstanding citizens since 1987. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

For more information regarding the awards, visit the county’s website at www.co.wood.oh.us.

A past Spirit of Wood County Awards ceremony in the county courthouse atrium